Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers
Schedule Appointment




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Yokohama Ice Guard IG52C Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 39 customer reviews
Overall8.4 Hydroplanning Resistance8.2
Buy Again92% Cornering Stability8.4
Dry Traction8.4 Steering Responsiveness8.4
Wet Traction8.5 Ride Comfort8.2
Light Snow Traction8.9 Noise Level7.7
Deep Snow Traction8.8 Treadwear8.3
Ice Traction8.4 Miles Reported118,601
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 39 tire reviews for the Yokohama Ice Guard IG52C. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 92% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Light Snow Traction and Cornering Stability received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 118,601.
Browse a list of all Yokohama tires

Customer Reviews: Yokohama Ice Guard IG52C
12/23/2019
Excellent
Definitely
195/50R16
2012 Hyundai Accent
All Highway
Average
Queensbury, NY
9.1 9.0
100% 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 5

12/18/2018
Excellent
Definitely
225/45R18
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Porter Corners, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 1,500

4/16/2018
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R16
2012 RAM C/V
Combined Highway/City
Average
Chalfont, PA
8.6 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 10,000
The tires performed very well in all snowy conditions

4/11/2018
Excellent
Definitely
235/50R19
2013 Toyota Sienna
Combined Highway/City
Average
Pulaski, NY
8.3 8.0
100% 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 5,000

1/8/2018
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2016 Toyota Corolla
Mostly Highway
Average
Kerhonkson, NY
9.0 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 3,000
recomended by managment at a reasonable price and good quality excellent customer service and close to my home very pleased and free tire rotation for life thanke mavis in kerhonkson ny

3/1/2017
Excellent
Definitely
215/60R16
2016 Nissan Altima
Combined Highway/City
Average
Napanoch, NY
8.4 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 450
Very impressed with the low noise level on dry roads. Traction was similar to other snow tire brands purchased in the past. Would definitely purchase again.

2/13/2017
Good
Probably
225/45R18
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Rochester, NY
7.0 7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 6.0
200
Have not driven in true winter conditions at this point. Love the service I received and the tires so far are what I was hoping for.

2/9/2017
Excellent
Definitely
175/70R14
2014 Hyundai Accent
Combined Highway/City
Average
Beacon, NY
8.4 10.0
100% 9.0
7.0 9.0
8.0 7.0
10.0 3.0
8.0 10.0
10.0 100
GREAT tires, and the service at Mavis is AWESOME! Thank you.

2/6/2017
Excellent
Definitely
195/50R16
2011 Ford Fiesta
Mostly Highway
Easy Going
Syracuse, NY
9.0 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
10.0 7.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 1,000
I am quite impressed with these tires. I bought four for my car because I was making a trip to Quebec City in January. While driving through Canada I hit bad snow weather on the highway and I must say that I was impressed with how well the car handled. I was driving carefully and would freak out changing lanes but the car would move smoothly and hold to the ground despite my car being only front wheel drive. Then when I arrived to Quebec City, the city was full of snow that hadn't been cleaned. I was staying in downtown Quebec where there is lots of hills and there was a lot of snow piled up, yet my car, which is small, had no problem going through the piles of snow. Again, I'm impressed and I must say that these are excellent tires to have!

2/4/2017
Good
Definitely
185/70R14
2004 Honda Civic
Combined Highway/City
Average
Shandaken, NY
7.3 7.0
100% 6.0
7.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 35
So far so good

12/23/2016
Good
Probably
195/65R15
2004 Toyota Corolla
Combined Highway/City
Average
Rochester, NY
7.9 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 500
I have driven in light snow, rain, and dry conditions and have felt pretty comfortable. The car also did well in heavier snow. I would probably buy these again.

12/19/2016
Excellent
Definitely
205/50R17
2012 Honda Civic
Combined Highway/City
Average
Purling, NY
8.9 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 4
I drive a Honda civic si so I needed a solid set of tires for the upstate winters. I bought the Yokahama ice guards, which were significantly cheaper than the blizzaks. Upon driving in multiple different snow storms, these tires did their job outstandingly. Furthermore, my driveway is a steep hill, I'm talking about a 200ft 40 degree incline. I plowed the hill once (with still a layer of ice and dusting on it), my car made it up and down with ease. These tires are giving me the best bang for my buck.. also John down at Catskill tire shop is an honest guy and looks for the best deal for you. Because of my experience with these winter tires and interactions with John, I will continue to buy all my tires from them. Thanks guys! If you want the peace of mind for a winter tire I'd say these would be your best bet!

7/10/2016
Good
Possibly
215/55R17
2016 Kia Soul
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Brewster, NY
7.6 8.0
50% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 6.0
8.0 6,000
Great tire,but appears to wear faster than my General Arcticmax

5/14/2016
Excellent
Probably
225/50R17
2012 Lincoln MKZ
Combined Highway/City
Average
Baldwinsville, NY
8.0 8.0
75% 8.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 10,000
A great value for the money. Not nearly as quiet and smooth as a Blizzak but almost as good in snow for several hundreds of dollars less for a set of 4.

4/25/2016
Excellent
Definitely
185/60R15
2011 Ford Fiesta
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Binghamton, NY
8.8 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
10.0 10,000
i would get theses again for my little tiny car! they work great in snow and ice on non-plowed roads and country hills/mtns of upstate ny

4/24/2016
Excellent
Definitely
225/55R17
2013 Hyundai Genesis
Combined Highway/City
Average
Webster, NY
8.3 10.0
100% 8.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 1,000
Since my car is a rear wheel drive it needed help in the winter snow. I am very pleased with the ride quality, quietness and most of all traction that these tires provide.

2/17/2016
Excellent
Definitely
225/50R17
2010 Honda Accord
Mostly Highway
Average
Binghamton, NY
8.4 7.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
8.0 8,000
Well - it finally snowed so I could write this review. These tires work great in the snow and I would definitely buy them again.

1/18/2016
Excellent
Probably
225/65R16
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Syracuse, NY
8.2 8.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0
1,000
Have not experienced all the weather conditions noted but the ones I have I am completely satisfied with the tire's performance.

12/5/2015
Excellent
Definitely
185/65R15
2014 Nissan Versa
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Oswego, NY
9.4 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 400
felt difference in first mile. ride improvement felt great

8/9/2015
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Mostly Highway
Average
Glenmont, NY
9.8 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 7.0
10.0 10,000
These tires solved my winter traction issues I had with this car.

3/14/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R16
2005 Saturn Vue
Combined Highway/City
Average
Marietta, NY
8.3 9.0
100% 9.0
6.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
9.0 6.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 3,360
Great tires. I felt safe and in control all winter long.

3/7/2015
Good
Probably
205/60R16
2006 Honda Accord
Mostly City
Average
Buffalo, NY
7.3 6.0
75% 7.0
9.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
9.0 6.0
9.0 6.0
8.0 500
Only had these tires for a few hundred miles so far, but I got them in January in Buffalo and went from completely bald winter tires to these. Felt like I was driving a tank when I left the Mavis, it was SUCH an improvement and I felt like I had world's of control.

2/25/2015
Excellent
Definitely
215/45R17
2008 Scion tC
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Bethel, CT
8.6 7.0
100% 9.0
8.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 1,000
The Tc is already horrible in the snow to start off with. But with these tires it makes such a big difference. I can actually drive in weather that most Tc's would not be able to get through.

2/14/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R16
2004 Honda Odyssey
Mostly Highway
Average
New York, NY
8.9 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 600
Bought a set the day before a family ski trip to Vermont and could not be more pleased with the tires performance. We encountered a little bit of everything on the trip. Light snow, rain and Wintry mix on the way up to Ludlow, VT from Manhattan. We fell asleep to rain and the Colts being dominated by the Patriots... and woke to 6" of fresh powder snow the following morning! The tires rode solidly through the Vermont morning as we headed out surefooted as a mountain goat. A. Gleaves.<br>

12/24/2014
Good
Definitely
215/60R16
2005 Ford Taurus
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Tamaqua, PA
7.8 7.0
100% 8.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 6.0
9.0 6.0
9.0 7.0
6.0 2,000
thus far i've made it through two snowstorms in pennsylvania, though nothing extreme. but i did make it through the great buffalo ny snowstorm this year. i've had blizzacks on my old jeep and altimax arctics on a chevy impala and these tires match everything the blizzacks can do (which are widely regarded as THE snow tire) but at a much lower price. these tires aren't as spongy as the arctics, which gives great cornering confidence and are very stable in wet conditions. in unplowed roads, you have much better braking power- i've encountered no fishtailing or sliding coming to a stop from 25mph. thus far my only complaint is the noise level, which is comparable to any other snow tire out there. great tire, great price, great match for my car.

12/22/2014
Excellent
Definitely
215/55R17
2011 Kia Optima
Combined Highway/City
Average
Schenectady, NY
9.0 8.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 4,000
Love them Very quiet

12/22/2014
Excellent
Definitely
225/50R17
2012 Lincoln MKZ
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Clay, NY
8.5 9.0
100% 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 650
great tires, have had minimal opportunity to use in snow/ice


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions