Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Michelin Pilot Super Sport Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 79 customer reviews
Overall8.8 Hydroplanning Resistance8.1
Buy Again94% Cornering Stability9.5
Dry Traction9.5 Steering Responsiveness9.4
Wet Traction8.4 Ride Comfort8.6
Light Snow Traction6.0 Noise Level8.3
Deep Snow Traction6.0 Treadwear7.7
Ice Traction8.0 Miles Reported195,991
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 79 tire reviews for the Michelin Pilot Super Sport. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 94% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Cornering Stability received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 195,991.
Browse a list of all Michelin tires

Customer Reviews: Michelin Pilot Super Sport
7/10/2020
Excellent
Definitely
245/35ZR18
2014 BMW M235i
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Fall River, MA
9.4 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
3,000

6/11/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/35ZR19 XL
2015 Lexus RC350
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Kennesaw, GA
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
200

6/1/2020
Good
Definitely
255/35ZR19
2004 Nissan 350Z
Combined Highway/City
Average
Lowell, MA
7.3 4.0
100% 8.0
10.0 10.0
5.0 9.0
5.0
5.0
90

4/18/2020
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR18
2010 Volkswagen GTI
Mostly Highway
Average
Somerville, MA
9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0
7.0
300

2/11/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/35ZR20 XL
2014 Audi A7 Quattro
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Gainesville, FL
9.4 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
10.0
9.0
3,000
Best tires in the business. I came from continentals and the two are completely different. This tire is so sticky that I can go 50 plus on most ramps without having to use the brake. Can not recommend these enough

5/6/2019
Excellent
Definitely
205/45ZR17 XL
2014 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Flushing, NY
9.1 8.0
100% 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
7.0
500
Although tires only have 500 miles the car is used primarily on country roads on weekends with a car club. My impression is that the car feels more compliant with the exception of driving over ruts on the road when then it shimmies. The car stays in the turn and wants to roll out freely. The tires do what they were designed to do and that is put a smile on your face.

2/4/2019
Excellent
Definitely
255/35ZR19
2008 Audi RS4
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Greenwich, CT
9.1 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
8.0
4,000
My favorite tire by far. Excellent grip in dry and cornering. Great for wet roads too. Tread wear was better than I expected. Overall very satisfied and recommended.

2/4/2019
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR18
2016 Kia Forte5
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Palm Harbor, FL
8.4 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 5.0
5.0
7.0
300
LOVE LOVE these tires. Have them on my BMW M4 as well. Sticky high performance tires and handle great in the rain too.

12/10/2018
Excellent
Definitely
P245/40ZR18
2010 Chevrolet Corvette
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Bradenton, FL
9.3 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
10,000
Worth the money

11/13/2018
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR17
2002 Ford Mustang
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Elkins Park, PA
8.7 7.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
10,000
Great summer tires. They perform really well, especially when dry. But even when it is raining, they are better than anything else I've tried. Really a must for any RWD sports car. Keeps you from fishtailing.

9/7/2018
Excellent
Definitely
255/40ZR20 XL
2015 Lincoln MKC
Mostly City
Average
Buffalo, NY
9.3 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
10.0
6.0
50
I bought these tires as i read only they are highly rated. So far so good.

6/1/2018
Excellent
Definitely
225/50ZR18
2008 Infiniti G35
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Stockbridge, GA
8.4 7.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
9.0
7.0
25,000
Great tire for aggressive drivers. Firm ride and firm sidewalls for cornering. This is my second set.

5/24/2018
Excellent
Definitely
275/35ZR19 XL
2015 BMW M3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Tallahassee, FL
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
10,000
Good performance good tread pattern.

10/26/2017
Excellent
Definitely
P335/25ZR20
2013 Chevrolet Corvette
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Massapequa, NY
8.3 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 10.0
8.0
7.0
1,000
durable beyond expectation.

8/16/2017
Excellent
Definitely
245/40ZR18 XL
2008 BMW 535i
Combined Highway/City
Average
Havertown, PA
9.7 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0
8.0
500
my go to tires for this car, only wish they could magically repel nails and road hazards better!!

7/29/2017
Excellent
Probably
275/35ZR19 XL
2014 Chevrolet SS
Combined Highway/City
Average
Palisades Park, NJ
8.6 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
1,000
Best tire I ever got!! Great investment

5/28/2017
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR18
2016 Audi S3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Ithaca, NY
9.4 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
750
Much improved ride and handling vs. the Continental tires as OEM.

4/14/2017
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR18
2010 Mercedes-Benz SLK300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
8.8 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0
8.0
300
Tires are great

1/10/2017
Excellent
Definitely
215/45ZR17 XL
2013 Subaru BRZ
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Honeoye Falls, NY
8.7 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
4,000
An excellent replacement tire for the BRZ ... an instant upgrade in handling and traction. Perhaps the best "practical" summer/sport tires I've owned.

12/15/2016
Excellent
Definitely
235/40ZR18
2013 Ford Focus
Combined Highway/City
Average
Thornwood, NY
9.3 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
3,000
Best summer tired I have ever owned!

12/8/2016
Excellent
Definitely
245/35ZR19
2000 BMW M5
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Port Jefferson Station, NY
8.9 7.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 10.0
10.0
6.0
500
Happy I placed these tires on this car. Always avoided these due to the pricing, however everything I have always read was true. These are outstanding for this type of sports car. Definitely would buy again.

9/25/2016
Excellent
Definitely
245/35ZR18
2016 Mercedes-Benz SLK300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Delmar, NY
9.7 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
9.0
10.0
1,000
These tires replaced Perelli PZero which were worn after 10,000 miles. The same thing happened on my prior vehicle. The Michilen tires are as good but with way better tread wear. These are great tires.

9/11/2016
Excellent
Definitely
255/40ZR19 XL
2014 Cadillac CTS
Mostly Highway
Energetic
New Paltz, NY
8.8 7.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
7,000
The Michelin super sport is still the best tire you can buy for a sport sedan period. You have to deal with the price and treadwear to get the best

7/3/2016
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR18
2008 Infiniti G35
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Elmont, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
400
Great

6/20/2016
Excellent
Definitely
275/35ZR18
1993 Nissan 300ZX
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Syosset, NY
9.7 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
10.0
10.0
1,500
Love these tires. The back end doesn't go sideways on me anymore in a tight turn.

6/6/2016
Excellent
Definitely
TR ZIG 4/26
2010 Chevrolet Corvette
Combined Highway/City
Average
Somers Point, NJ
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
50
I'll never buy another tire except Michelin. Great tires from a great store!

5/9/2016
Excellent
Definitely
245/40ZR18 XL
2008 BMW 535xi
Mostly Highway
Average
Sparta, NJ
9.0 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
2
Under normal driving conditions and well as high performance, the Michelin Pilot Super Sport is my top choice.

4/24/2016
Good
Definitely
255/35ZR19
2012 Audi S5
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
West Harrison, NY
7.8 5.0
100% 9.0
9.0 8.0
6.0 8.0
8.0
7.0
88
Just love the tires but they are just for the summer

1/7/2016
Excellent
Definitely
P285/35ZR19
2009 Chevrolet Corvette
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Katonah, NY
8.6 7.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 8.0
8.0
7.0
4,000
Best tires for the application (asymmetrical, run-flat, high-speed for a Corvette).

10/15/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/45ZR19
2009 Infiniti G37
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Oak Ridge, NJ
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
9.0
8,000
Great tires - feels like a different car! highly recommend

9/13/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/45ZR17 XL
2004 Subaru Impreza
Autocross
Average
Stamford, CT
9.2 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 8.0
7.0 10.0
9.0
9.0
2,000
Tires have been used on one track day and approximately 2000 miles of road use. Tires performed amazingly on track once they came up to temperature (which took about 1/3 of a lap). Road performance has also been exemplary. Little to no road noise, doesn't follow the grooves in the road, smooth-riding and comfortable.

7/16/2015
Excellent
Definitely
255/35ZR19
2011 Audi S5
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bayside, NY
8.7 7.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 10.0
9.0
6.0
1,200
I have been very pleased with this tire purchase. I have even noticed an improvement in braking. I would buy them again. The Mavis tire salesman was extremely helpful and patient as I was making my tire decision. I truly appreciated that.

5/21/2015
Excellent
Definitely
265/40ZR19 XL
2014 Porsche Cayman
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Croton On Hudson, NY
8.8 8.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
700
Compared to the Pirelli P-Zero tires that came with the car, these Michelins are superior in every way: better ride quality, improved handling/steering response, quieter and better wear. And the severe 'wheel hop' that accompanied hard acceleration from a stop with the Pirellis was eliminated with these Michelins.

1/26/2015
Excellent
Definitely
P245/40ZR18
2006 Chevrolet Corvette
Combined Highway/City
Average
Spencerport, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
800
These tires changed my whole driving experience. The original Goodyears cannot compare. Wow what a difference!

1/8/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR19
2008 Lexus IS F
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Stamford, CT
8.1 7.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 7.0
9.0
6.0
2,000
These tires do not disappoint. If you drive a sports car and want great tires without having to drop a ton of cash on ps2, you will love these.

5/13/2014
Good
Probably
235/45ZR17 XL
2011 Subaru Impreza
All Highway
Energetic
Baldwin, NY
7.3 7.0
75% 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0
7.0
3,000
The tires perform well but Dunlop makes a superior tire sport 01.

5/8/2014
Excellent
Definitely
235/40ZR18
2008 Audi S4
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Chappaqua, NY
8.6 7.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 8.0
8.0
7.0
500
2nd time buying these tires. Extremely happy with them

5/29/2013
Excellent
Definitely
TR94829301
2009 Porsche Boxster
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Great Neck, NY
8.9 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 8.0
7.0
750
Excellent performance tire. Better steering response than my original equipment Bridgestones. Ride comfort is acceptable for a 40 series tire.

5/10/2013
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR18
2005 Mercedes-Benz CL55 AMG
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Great Barrington, MA
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0
600
See my other review of the 265/40/18s since I have staggered fitment. These tires work together with the rears to make the car feel neutral in the twisty bits. I have never before been able to lay down the power and torque of my AMG in this superior manner. They can make the car feel like AWD with the fronts pulling the car into a turn. However, if you drive with your eyes down the road as taught in driving school, they become completely neutral without the tendency for oversteer. The combination makes one feel that one can just drive! You are in the zone! Tommy and his staff made me a great deal and were enthusiastic about making everything right before and after installation! Warning: there is no allowance for staggered sizes on the Michelin Promotion registration online so I hope that my rebate is not declined since I did buy 4 tires at one!

5/9/2013
Excellent
Definitely
265/40ZR18
2008 BMW M3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
New Rochelle, NY
9.2 6.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
500
Pilot Super Sports are a big step up from the OEM Michelin PS2s. Cheaper also.

9/15/2012
Excellent
Definitely
235/45ZR17 XL
2011 Subaru Impreza
All Highway
Energetic
Brewster, NY
9.4 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 8.0
8.0
3,500
The original Dunlops that came with vehicle were a joke. My gym socks on a wood floor had better traction than the tires in both wet/dry performance. If you can afford the tires buy them! The Super Sports stick like flies on road kill on dry roads. In the rain I felt like Michael Phelps! These tires zoom through water!( You will need snow tires for the winter)Just bite the bullet and buy these tires you wont be sorry!

8/26/2012
Excellent
Definitely
305/30ZR19
2008 Porsche 911
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Great Neck, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
2,200
its about time they made a tire that was a real world tire ,this tire can go from the track to the store and last 30,000 miles. great job

8/25/2012
Excellent
Probably
225/40ZR18
2008 BMW 335xi
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
North Adams, MA
8.3 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
100
Much better alternative to OE and being a "summer only" tire, has a lot more grip both wet and dry. Waiting to see treadwear but the tire get very high ratings which influenced my purchasing them.

8/8/2012
Excellent
Definitely
245/40ZR18
1999 Mercedes-Benz SL500
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Northport, NY
8.4 7.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
1,000
Very high performing tire that improved the ride and handling from the original tires

7/25/2012
Excellent
Probably
245/40ZR18
2008 BMW M3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Schenectady, NY
8.2 7.0
75% 10.0
10.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
500
I decided on Michelin Pilot Super Sports over the OEC Michelin Pilot Sport PS2's as they reviews suggested Super Sports had a better wear rating and performance. I am pleased with the tires after a few hundred miles. I would say the compound must be softer on the Super Sports as there is a little less road feel translated to the steering, but the ride was somewhat improved and there is lower tire noise. The Super Sports must have higher rolling resistance due to the softer compound which shows up in the gas mileage. Overall, I'm very pleased. Mavis also matched an online price and I've had good service from the shop where I had the tires installed. They were able to re-accommodate the mounting/balancing for a Saturday morning when I was not available on Friday.


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions