Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers
Schedule Appointment




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Kelly Explorer Plus (Kelly is a Goodyear Brand) Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 131 customer reviews
Overall8.0 Hydroplanning Resistance7.7
Buy Again84% Cornering Stability8.1
Dry Traction8.5 Steering Responsiveness8.1
Wet Traction8.2 Ride Comfort8.3
Light Snow Traction8.0 Noise Level8.0
Deep Snow Traction7.4 Treadwear8.1
Ice Traction7.0 Miles Reported327,271
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 131 tire reviews for the Kelly Explorer Plus . This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 84% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Ride Comfort received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 327,271.
Browse a list of all Kelly tires

Customer Reviews: Kelly Explorer Plus (Kelly is a Goodyear Brand)
8/28/2017
Excellent
Definitely
175/65R14
1999 Toyota Corolla
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bloomingburg, NY
8.3 7.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
9.0
7.0
500

5/8/2017
Excellent
Definitely
185/70R14
2003 Honda Civic
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Lewiston, NY
8.8 10.0
100% 9.0
9.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 3,000
Excellent tire. Felt safe and comfortable in wet, snow and ice. Would buy them again!

5/9/2016
Good
Probably
185/70R14
2001 Honda Civic
Mostly City
Average
Lakeville, CT
7.5 7.0
75% 7.0
10.0 7.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 10.0
5.0 8.0
5.0 8,000
Aside from cost, my kelly tires have held up well through all seasons

4/14/2016
Good
Probably
175/65R14
1999 Chevrolet Prizm
Mostly City
Easy Going
Old Bethpage, NY
7.9
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
150

4/13/2016
Good
Definitely
225/60R16
2010 Dodge Grand Caravan
Combined Highway/City
Average
Gillett, PA
7.8 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 6.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 8.0
6.0 6.0
6.0 12,000

2/8/2016
Good
Probably
175/65R14
1997 Geo Prizm
Combined Highway/City
Average
Mumford, NY
7.3 7.0
75% 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 1,000
With the little snow we have had these tires are excellent. The service was speedy and the gentleman behind the counter was very knowledgeable.

11/17/2015
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R16
2009 Chevrolet Impala
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Buffalo, NY
10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
150
Was very pleased with my experience and the tires I received from Mavis.I actually paid a little less for the same tires I purchased 3 years ago from Dunn Tire.

11/9/2015
Excellent
Definitely
195/65R15
2013 Honda Civic
Mostly City
Average
Newburgh, NY
9.5
100%
9.0
500
have not had them nor has the weather been anything but good to evaluate these.

10/14/2015
Excellent
Probably
225/60R16
2004 Cadillac DeVille
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Syracuse, NY
8.1 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
10,000
I am extremely happy with my purchase.The Mavis store MGR.noticed several discrepancies that needed immediate attn.(Kelly tires). To think,I only came in for a car inspection. Hats off to the MAVIS CREW.

8/14/2015
Good
Probably
P205/65R15
1989 Mercedes-Benz 300SE
Combined Highway/City
Average
Carmel, NY
7.1
75% 7.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
6.0
1,000
So far i am happy with the choice. no problems.

5/3/2015
Excellent
Definitely
215/60R16
2009 Nissan Altima
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bronx, NY
9.3
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
10.0
9.0
500
Excellent tires, great price and so far great quality

12/1/2014
Excellent
Definitely
195/65R15
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Oakdale, NY
8.6 9.0
100% 7.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 10.0
7.0 10.0
7.0 10.0
8.0 1,000
in this world you get what you pay for, Having said this, these tires are a great product for the money. I would recommend these to anyone budget smart looking for a safe reliable tire.

10/8/2014
Good
Definitely
205/60R15
2010 Nissan Sentra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Rahway, NJ
7.4
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0
7.0
200
I am very pleased with the tire selection.

8/19/2014
Excellent
Definitely
175/65R14
2000 Toyota Echo
Combined Highway/City
Average
Warwick, NY
8.5
100% 8.0
10.0
8.0 8.0
7.0
1,000
Great tire that handles well with excellent traction and priced well.

7/5/2014
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R16
2003 Ford Windstar
Mostly Highway
Average
New Windsor, NY
8.9 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
3,000
Great set of tires for the money.

4/19/2014
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R16
1999 Chevrolet Lumina
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bay Shore, NY
9.3 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
2,000
These tires were much needed on my vehicle. It's like I'm driving a different car. They handle excellent in the rain and light snow. Haven't had to deal with ice or deep snow, but it is a car with new tires so I would expect it to do ok. Overall, theses tires have met my expectations of them and I would buy again.

1/28/2014
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Whitesboro, NY
8.7 8.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 2,000
Bought these tires because the tires that came with the car were terrible in the snow. These tires have been fantastic on the snow and I zip up my inclined driveway very easly compared to not being able to make it up with the prior tires.

12/21/2013
Excellent
Definitely
215/70R15
2001 Chevrolet Tracker
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Lockport, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 200
My wife is very happy with the tires and feels very safe and secure commuting 40 miles daily! Thanks again!

11/28/2013
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2004 Kia Optima
Combined Highway/City
Average
Watertown, NY
8.2 7.0
100% 8.0
8.0 7.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 1,500
very good tires at an affordable price.

11/22/2013
Excellent
Definitely
205/70R15
2004 Honda CR-V
Mostly Highway
Average
Cheshire, MA
8.3 6.0
100% 7.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 500
This is the second set of these tires. Got 32000 + on the 1st set. Like the tires & the store in Pittsfield , Mass.. Adam the manager is very knowledgeable & great to deal with. In, out no problem. Recommend this store to anyone.

9/19/2013
Good
Definitely
P205/65R15
2003 Dodge Stratus
Mostly City
Average
Duryea, PA
7.7
100%
8.0 8.0
8.0
6.0
6.0
200
only had for summer conditions

9/9/2013
Good
Possibly
185/60R15
2005 Dodge Neon
Mostly Highway
Average
Valhalla, NY
7.8
50%
9.0 10.0
8.0
7.0
500
Ride comfort is good for price of tires. I would recommend these tires to anyone who is looking to save some money.

8/25/2013
Excellent
Definitely
215/70R15
2003 Dodge Grand Caravan
Combined Highway/City
Average
Coxsackie, NY
8.5 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
7.0
1,000
I've always liked Kelly.

8/11/2013
Excellent
Definitely
195/60R15
2004 Nissan Sentra
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Bronx, NY
9.6 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0
10.0
1,000
Great tires. 60000 mile rated. My car is 10 yrs old this was a great purchase. The staff at Mavis Discount Tires was professional and very customer service friendly. I would recommend the tires and Mavis too all I know

7/8/2013
Excellent
Probably
215/60R16
2011 Chevrolet Cruze
Mostly City
Average
Amsterdam, NY
9.1 9.0
75% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
8.0
10.0
1,200
I am very impressed with Kelly tires thus far. Since I have not had them long enough to drive them during the winter months I cannot comment on their performance in winter. I can however say that so far I am extremely impressed with the Kelly tires I purchased.

6/24/2013
Excellent
Definitely
185/65R14
2010 Kia Rio
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Rochester, NY
9.8 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 1,000
Have not yet tried it with snow/ice conditions. Have driven in wet conditions and have not experienced hydroplaning. I did experience it (hydroplaning with old tires as well as non stability making turns. Wife almost ran off the road with old tires in dry weather traveling at 10 MPH. Have not had any problems with these new tires.

6/23/2013
Excellent
Definitely
215/70R15
2001 Buick LeSabre
Combined Highway/City
Average
Clay, NY
8.9 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
8.0
9.0
1,500
Great deal on 4 tires. Checked all around the area, and no other dealers could match the price. Car rides great. No regrets with Kelly tires and Mavis service.

6/14/2013
Good
Probably
215/65R16
2007 Ford Mustang
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Schodack Landing, NY
7.3 7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
8.0
1,500
Verry good tires so far

6/12/2013
Good
Possibly
205/70R15
2001 Subaru Forester
Combined Highway/City
Average
Middleburgh, NY
7.8 8.0
50% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0
8.0
600
It's hard to really tell yet as I have not driven that far yet and no snow or ice yet will be able to tell more in 6 months

6/5/2013
Good
Possibly
205/55R16
2003 Pontiac Vibe
Mostly City
Easy Going
Schenectady, NY
6.7
50% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0
1,000
too soon to tell. no signs of wear but they are still quite new

5/20/2013
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Huntington Station, NY
8.6 7.0
100% 9.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
500
excellent tires--i would definetly recommend

5/4/2013
Excellent
Definitely
185/65R14
2002 Kia Spectra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Stony Brook, NY
8.7 7.0
100% 9.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 7.0
6.0 400
I would definitely recommend these tires to a friend or a relative or most anyone. A very good product from Goodyear for a better economy price.

4/17/2013
Excellent
Definitely
205/70R15
2001 Buick Century
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Penfield, NY
8.8 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 450
great tire and very affordable! Bravo to the people at Webster NY Mavis

4/16/2013
Excellent
Definitely
185/65R14
1999 Ford Escort
Mostly Highway
Average
Kingston, NY
8.8 8.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 9.0
6.0 2,000
You can beat the price for the tires and accountability. All the way around Price,Performance and Quality these tires were an Excellent choice and buy. Thanks to the Service Staff At Mavis who offered this bargain to me.....Brenda

3/31/2013
Good
Probably
185/65R14
1998 Ford Escort
Combined Highway/City
Average
Ossining, NY
7.3 8.0
75% 7.0
7.0 6.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 2,000
Nice and quiet tire. A little on the loose feeling side. not bad for the money.

3/25/2013
Good
Definitely
185/70R14
2003 Honda Civic
Combined Highway/City
Average
Walden, NY
6.8 6.0
100% 7.0
10.0 8.0
7.0 6.0
6.0 6.0
2.0 9.0
5.0 300
These are really good tires I honestly love them! There affordable and the tread is very good on them.

3/23/2013
Excellent
Probably
225/60R16
2000 Subaru Outback
Mostly City
Average
Glens Falls, NY
8.7 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 200
Absolutely impressed with these tires, and even more impressed with the service and price at Mavis Discount Tire, Queensbury, NY

3/22/2013
Good
Probably
215/70R15
2002 Pontiac Montana
Mostly Highway
Average
Stanfordville, NY
6.3
75%
8.0
4.0
600
havent drove in all weather conditions with van as i have 4 wheel drive pick up for bad weather havent driven much with new tires as of now less than 1000 miles so its hard to really evaluate them

3/12/2013
Excellent
Probably
225/60R16
2005 Pontiac Bonneville
Mostly City
Average
Fulton, NY
8.1 8.0
75% 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 100
very nice

3/11/2013
Good
Probably
195/65R15
2002 Mitsubishi Galant
Mostly Highway
Easy Going
Carmel, NY
7.9 9.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 65,000
Great tire.

3/10/2013
Excellent
Definitely
195/60R15
2006 Ford Focus
Combined Highway/City
Average
Ballston Spa, NY
9.3 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
6.0 10.0
6.0 500
The tires are a very excellent tire that I have brought for family vehicle I would recommend these tire to my friends.

2/18/2013
Good
Possibly
185/65R14
2010 Toyota Matrix
Combined Highway/City
Average
Poughkeepsie, NY
6.8 7.0
50% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 100
The car seems balanced and drives steady, not that great in the snow. There is some traction !! I don't think , I would buy these tires again.

2/12/2013
Good
Definitely
225/60R16
2007 Chevrolet Impala
Mostly Highway
Average
Binghamton, NY
7.8 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
9.0 6.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 5,000
great tire love they way they ride a little noisy but mostly here it where dry.

2/2/2013
Good
Definitely
195/65R15
2012 Kia Soul
Combined Highway/City
Average
Whitney Point, NY
7.9
100% 8.0
8.0
8.0
8.0 6.0
8.0
7.0 2,000
Very please with these all season and glad I didn't buy snows. The salesman said these were the best non snows and he was right.

1/26/2013
Excellent
Definitely
185/65R14
1999 Ford Escort
Mostly City
Energetic
Poughkeepsie, NY
8.2
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
100
I've had no driving in deep snow, ice or flooded roads with these tires so I cannot comment.

1/21/2013
Excellent
Definitely
195/65R15
2012 Chevrolet Sonic
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Binghamton, NY
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 20
i enjoy the tires that i got from mavis tires in vestal ny.

1/17/2013
Excellent
Definitely
215/60R16
2008 Hyundai Sonata
Mostly Highway
Average
Valley Stream, NY
10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
1,000
Tires are great but I have not had snoow to test them in thta condition

1/16/2013
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R16
2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Combined Highway/City
Average
Deer Park, NY
8.7 9.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
7.0 1,000
I PURCHASED THESE TIRES FOR MY GIRLFRIENDS CAR AS A GIFT. SHE IS TOTALLY PLEASED WITH THE DRIVABILITY ASPECTS OF HER CAR WITH THE NEW TIRES. THE MAVIS SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT, AND I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE OVERALL PURCHASE AND SERVICE EXPERIENCE. I WOULD RECOMMEND MAVIS TIRE TO EVERYONE.

1/10/2013
Excellent
Probably
185/65R14
2002 Toyota Corolla
Mostly City
Average
Cornwall, NY
8.0 8.0
75%
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0
9.0
1,000
good tire for the money--

1/7/2013
Excellent
Probably
225/60R16
2001 Ford Windstar
Combined Highway/City
Average
Sterling, NY
8.8 9.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 200
So far So good

1/6/2013
Good
Probably
195/65R15
2010 Toyota Corolla
Mostly City
Average
Troy, NY
6.5 5.0
75% 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 6.0
6.0 6.0
3.0 500
Tires are very good, but have not driven in heavy snow or ice so I can't say about that. They seem to be good tires and I would buy them again from Mavis. Thanks.

12/15/2012
Excellent
Definitely
205/55R16
2006 Honda Civic
Combined Highway/City
Average
Fishkill, NY
8.4
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
200
So far I like them alot for the price. Havent driven them in the snow yet so cant say how they are yet but there dry and wet performance is very good and road noise is very good.

12/15/2012
Good
Possibly
195/65R15
2010 Toyota Corolla
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bronx, NY
6.9
50% 7.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
5.0
8.0
500
So far so good.

11/21/2012
Good
Possibly
205/70R15
2000 Subaru Forester
Combined Highway/City
Average
West Hurley, NY
6.1 6.0
50% 7.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 5.0
6.0 6.0
6.0 300
no problems, seem to work just fine

11/19/2012
Good
Possibly
205/70R15
2003 Honda CR-V
Combined Highway/City
Average
Franklin Square, NY
7.3 6.0
50% 7.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 200
Great riding tires. Not as good in wet conditions as Goodyear Assurance but good overall.

10/20/2012
Excellent
Definitely
P205/65R15
2003 Toyota Camry
Combined Highway/City
Average
Gardiner, NY
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
3,000
While I havent had them in snow yet this season the give a smooth ride in good weather and hold the road in wet / rain conditions

9/14/2012
Excellent
Probably
225/60R16
2000 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Mostly City
Easy Going
Wappingers Falls, NY
8.3 7.0
75% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
7.0
600
The manager Pat, was very helpful and got us in and out quickly . I can not say how the tires are in winter weather since we have not had any . Tires show no signs of wear other than the nubs being gone and handle good


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions