Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers
Schedule Appointment




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

General G-Max AS-05 Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 73 customer reviews
Overall8.5 Hydroplanning Resistance8.4
Buy Again90% Cornering Stability8.6
Dry Traction9.0 Steering Responsiveness8.7
Wet Traction8.6 Ride Comfort8.7
Light Snow Traction7.9 Noise Level8.6
Deep Snow Traction6.9 Treadwear8.3
Ice Traction6.9 Miles Reported511,804
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 73 tire reviews for the General G-Max AS-05. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 90% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Steering Responsiveness received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 511,804.
Browse a list of all General tires

"Allie at Lindenhurst Mavis was great. She was very knowledgeable and patient while helping me with the right tires to replace my run-flats." - Lindenhurst, NY

Customer Reviews: General G-Max AS-05
3/25/2020
Good
Definitely
215/45ZR17 XL
2015 Hyundai Elantra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hicksville, NY
7.3 6.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 5

3/10/2020
Excellent
Definitely
215/55ZR17
2008 Lexus ES350
All City
Easy Going
Saint Petersburg, FL
9.0 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
8,000
These are nice tires, quiet ride and good when raining.

3/9/2020
Good
Definitely
255/40ZR18 XL
2014 BMW 428i
Combined Highway/City
Average
North Wales, PA
6.9 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
5.0 4.0
3.0 71,000
My rears wore out in 1 year : (

2/16/2020
Excellent
Probably
265/35ZR18 XL
2014 Mercedes-Benz E350
Combined Highway/City
Average
Voorhees, NJ
8.4
75% 7.0
10.0
8.0 9.0
10.0
8.0
3,000

2/12/2020
Good
Probably
245/45ZR19
2015 Hyundai Equus
Combined Highway/City
Average
Albany, GA
7.6
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
7.0
700

2/5/2020
Excellent
Definitely
255/35ZR19 XL
2018 Mercedes-Benz C43 AMG
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Lindenhurst, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 300
Allie at Lindenhurst Mavis was great. She was very knowledgeable and patient while helping me with the right tires to replace my run-flats.

1/4/2020
Excellent
Definitely
205/40ZR17 XL
2014 Ford Fiesta
Autocross
Energetic
Middletown, PA
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 10.0
9.0
1,500
Great, softer riding tire. Handles amazing on back roads and technical driving. Finally found a tire that feels stick in 20° and 80° weather. waiting to see how they are in snow!

12/4/2019
Excellent
Definitely
225/45ZR17
2016 Audi A3 Quattro
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Hellertown, PA
8.8 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0
7.0
500
This is my second set, first set was on a MB C300. These tires are in my opinion better than the Continentals and Pirelli tires that come on these cars from the factory. I have not driven in deep snow but coatings to a couple of inches is not a problem. Great tires.

7/13/2019
Excellent
Definitely
225/40ZR18 XL
2005 Chrysler Crossfire
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Sarasota, FL
9.0 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
69,400
I've had these on my previous Crossfire and loved them so much that when I purchased my Crossfire Roadster I knew I had to replace the current rubber. The staff at the Bradenton location are AWESOME!!

6/14/2019
Excellent
Probably
225/50ZR17
2010 Honda Accord
Mostly City
Average
Columbia, SC
9.0 9.0
75% 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 8.0
8.0
10.0
100
I like the tires

5/10/2019
Good
Probably
245/40ZR17
2000 Mercedes-Benz CLK430
Mostly City
Average
Orange Park, FL
7.7 6.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
7.0
7.0
200
Very pleased so far.

4/29/2019
Excellent
Definitely
215/45ZR18 XL
2016 Mazda 3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Douglasville, GA
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
500
Really good tires. Would buy them again.

4/17/2019
Excellent
Definitely
205/45ZR17 XL
2006 Mazda MX-5 Miata
Combined Highway/City
Average
Ponte Vedra, FL
8.1
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
7.0
45,000
I've only had these on for a few weeks but I am really impressed with the performance given the excellent price.

4/15/2019
Excellent
Definitely
225/45ZR19
2016 Mazda 6
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Oceanport, NJ
8.8 9.0
100% 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
2
The Generals are a huge, noticeable improvement over the OEMs. Much quieter and smoother over bumps and way more grip. Steering response is immediate - these feel lively at turn-in and change direction effortlessly. Not twitchy, but eager. Cornering stability is solid, they hold a line well, yet will react to steering inputs - again not twitchy, but steering feels lighter mid-line/curve. Grip is excellent - especially in the wet, and accelerates well in wet and dry. Braking grip is very strong and evenly maintained in turns. Great deal and they perform as well or better (especially in the wet) than tires costing $50/each more.

4/9/2019
Excellent
Definitely
215/45ZR17 XL
2010 Toyota Matrix
All Highway
Average
Brick, NJ
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
6.0 8.0
7.0 5,000
Love these tires, smooth ride with excellent grip....

3/27/2019
Excellent
Definitely
255/40ZR18 XL
2004 BMW M3
Mostly Highway
Average
Hauppauge, NY
8.6 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
1,000
So far (only 1,000 miles since purchase), I am loving these tires

3/9/2019
Good
Probably
225/50ZR17
2010 Honda Accord
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Ventnor City, NJ
7.5 9.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
5.0 7.0
5.0 500
So far so good. I've already experienced all types of weather with these tires. Excellent in the rain, better than average in the snow, for a performance tire. Very good in dry conditions. Tires are quiet so far, even with some aggressive maneuvers. Little noise at high speed. Sidewall is a little soft and the tire takes a second to set in quick lane changes but remains composed once set. Will have to see how it holds up when the weather gets hot and the tread starts to wear down.

12/19/2018
Excellent
Probably
245/40ZR20 XL
2017 Chevrolet Camaro
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Cairo, NY
8.6
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
10.0
20
So Far so good

12/10/2018
Excellent
Definitely
255/35ZR18 XL
2014 Lexus IS350
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Birmingham, AL
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
200
Not as hard or loud as the factory Bridgestone or the Pirelli. Great value.

12/6/2018
Excellent
Definitely
225/55ZR17
2016 Mazda 6
Mostly Highway
Energetic
West Columbia, SC
8.4 8.0
100% 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0
8.0
20,000
This tire is actually much quieter than those that came on the car originally. They provide me good all-around performance.

11/5/2018
Good
Probably
265/40ZR22 XL
2014 Ford Edge
Mostly Highway
Average
Batavia, NY
7.9 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8,500
No experience with deep snow yet and too soon to gauge tire wear. However, we went to the West coast for a total of 6600 miles through a snow storm in the Rockies and Arizona desert with no tire issues at all. Pleased with my purchase.

10/26/2018
Excellent
Definitely
215/55ZR17
2015 Toyota Camry
Combined Highway/City
Average
Manchester Township, NJ
9.3 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
10.0
9.0
2,000
So far the tires are responding well. Have not had the chance to experience their performance in the snow or ice, but I'm looking forward to see how they respond and keeping my fingers crossed that they will not disappoint me.

9/6/2018
Excellent
Definitely
215/55ZR17
2012 Toyota Camry
Combined Highway/City
Average
Saint Petersburg, FL
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
3,500
Tires perform as expected as reviewed above.

8/17/2018
Excellent
Definitely
245/50ZR17
2012 Acura TL
Combined Highway/City
Average
Poughkeepsie, NY
9.4 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
10.0
90,000
Very pleased. Definitely recommend. I haven't driven in winter yet so don't know about snow traction. Much more comfortable and quiet with comparable handling than my previous tires.

6/25/2018
Excellent
Definitely
215/50ZR17 XL
2006 Chevrolet HHR
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Rochester, NY
9.0 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
10.0
50
the ride, the steering, the stopping response all excellent. only had tires for a few weeks and i love them. will buy them again.

6/21/2018
Good
Definitely
215/40ZR18 XL
2015 Hyundai Veloster
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Malvern, PA
7.3 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 7.0
4.0 9.0
2.0 9.0
4.0 5,000
Great dry traction and more than acceptable wet traction from these low profile tires. While not made for serious winter conditions, they did OK in light snow. Ride comfort is not the strength of short sidewall low profile tires and potholes can be teeth jarring.

6/12/2018
Good
Probably
225/45ZR19
2015 Mazda CX-5
Mostly City
Average
Hillside, NJ
7.0
75%
10,000
so far so good...tire has been holding out with close to no problems...the smallest issue is the tire pressure. Sometimes deflated and needs more air

6/1/2018
Good
Probably
245/50ZR17
2006 Acura RL
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Ossining, NY
7.0 7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 10,000
The new tires I have on car are even better then previous

5/7/2018
Excellent
Definitely
215/45ZR17 XL
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bellport, NY
8.3 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
6.0 2,500
Very happy with these tires.

4/19/2018
Excellent
Definitely
225/50ZR16
1981 Porsche 928
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Bridgewater, NJ
8.8 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 10.0
7.0 1,000
Awesome tire an an even better price. I push them to the limits of speed and cornering and I love them!

2/5/2018
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR20 XL
2015 Dodge Charger
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Doylestown, PA
8.2 8.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
7.0 1.0
7.0 300
I did some reviewing before I bought these tires and by far a great choice. The stock tires let me down after about 30k on them. These Generals so far feel great...

1/15/2018
Excellent
Definitely
205/50ZR17 XL
2011 Mazda 3
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Long Beach, NY
8.8 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 1,000
I've driven over 1000 miles on these tires with a mix of highway and city and I'm 100% happy with my purchase. At $90 a tire these are middle of the road price wise but outperform at their price point. I tend to drive a little hard at times and these tires are up to the task. They are much quieter than the last two sets of tires I had on the car; Milestar and the OEM Yokohama. Nice and grippy in the corners with just a bit of flex and pretty smooth over road imperfections. I can't say much as far as the treadwear as I've only covered 1000 miles. Good in the snow because they are new and have a lot of tread on them. For all season tires that won't break the bank, I give them a thumbs up and if they are still available in the future, I would not think twice about buying them again. Basically a $110-120 tire for $90. Great deal.

1/8/2018
Good
Definitely
225/50ZR18
2008 Pontiac G6
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Union, NJ
7.8 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0
4.0 2,000
Honestly, they seem to be good tires. Time will tell.

1/6/2018
Good
Probably
235/50ZR18
2016 Mercedes-Benz GLA250
Mostly Highway
Average
Somerset, NJ
7.6 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 1,000
Great tire for the price. Ive only had about a month but so far performed well.

12/25/2017
Excellent
Definitely
245/50ZR17
2009 Acura TL
Mostly Highway
Average
Vestal, NY
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 500
Drove to NYC from Binghamton, NY during snow storm to get to JFK for vacation. Excellent traction on this trip.

12/17/2017
Excellent
Definitely
225/50ZR18
2011 Chrysler 200
Combined Highway/City
Average
Webster, NY
8.3 9.0
100% 7.0
9.0 7.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 2,500
Love these tires. They are new but have had good experience in all conditions. Snow is coming on and so far they are good to excellent. Smoother and quieter than the original tire brand for this car type.

10/21/2017
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR20 XL
2016 Dodge Challenger
Combined Highway/City
Average
Mahopac, NY
9.8 10.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
2,000
Really nice tires. Much better than what the car came with. Did not drive in any snow yet but will update when I do.

10/15/2017
Excellent
Definitely
245/45ZR17
2010 Mercedes-Benz E350
Combined Highway/City
Average
Greenwich, CT
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
1,250
An absolutely great tire. No idea about snow yet but rain and dry pavement excellent. So quiet I don’t even know they are there as compared to the Mercedes OEM Continental ContacPro I saved a lot of money with the General tires and this will be my replacement tire for now on. Can’t beat the price and quality The quietness is amazing.

7/27/2017
Excellent
Definitely
235/50ZR17
2004 Lincoln LS
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Toms River, NJ
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
1,000
very good

6/21/2017
Good
Probably
205/50ZR16
2002 Mazda Miata
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Camillus, NY
7.9 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
800
The ride has improved 100% Fingers crossed they continue to impress as the miles pile on.


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions