Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

General Altimax RT Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 25 customer reviews
Overall8.1 Hydroplanning Resistance8.0
Buy Again89% Cornering Stability8.2
Dry Traction8.8 Steering Responsiveness8.5
Wet Traction8.2 Ride Comfort8.5
Light Snow Traction7.6 Noise Level8.2
Deep Snow Traction7.1 Treadwear8.0
Ice Traction6.2 Miles Reported60,930
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 25 tire reviews for the General Altimax RT. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 89% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Steering Responsiveness received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 60,930.
Browse a list of all General tires

Customer Reviews: General Altimax RT
12/30/2017
Good
Definitely
215/65TR17
2006 Chrysler 300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Manchester Township, NJ
7.3 6.0
100% 7.0
9.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 300
So far they are quality tires

8/13/2017
Excellent
Definitely
TROT:7960000
2013 Chrysler 300
Mostly City
Average
Tenafly, NJ
8.3 9.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 9.0
7.0
4,000
Fine (and superior) replacements to the original tires, which, to their credit, had 60,000 miles on them when replaced. Too early to judge treadwear.

6/27/2017
Excellent
Definitely
205/65R15
2004 Saturn L300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Syracuse, NY
8.5 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 4

1/26/2017
Excellent
Definitely
ATD
2011 Chevrolet Malibu
Combined Highway/City
Average
Barto, PA
9.3 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
10.0 1,000
Great tires I wouldn't buy another brand for my car

1/20/2017
Excellent
Definitely
235/70R15
1996 Chevrolet Caprice
Combined Highway/City
Average
New Milford, CT
8.3 7.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0
2,000
I cant' comment on snow performance since I don't drive this car in snow but otherwise these tires are great on this vehicle and I would buy them again.

9/20/2014
Excellent
Definitely
225/70R15
1997 Ford Crown Victoria
All Highway
Easy Going
Port Deposit, MD
9.4 9.0
100%
9.0
10.0 9.0
5,000
Not enough miles for a review, we dove to Myrtle Beach in a pouring rain, 70 mph down I 95 and these tires hung in without a bit of slip

7/7/2014
Good
Definitely
215/65TR17
2006 Chrysler 300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Tarrytown, NY
7.8 7.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
5.0 12,000
good value for the price performance has been good and wear apears negligible

1/10/2014
Excellent
Definitely
225/60TR16
2006 Ford Freestar
Mostly City
Average
Holtsville, NY
9.8 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 4,500
So far I have absolutely no complaints about these tires. I had originally wanted snow tires, but then read about hydroplaning issues when snow tires are driven in wet weather. I decided to do my research and purchase an all-season tire which focused on winter performance. I am SO glad I did! I've driven in freezing rain, ice, black ice, heavy snow, slush and light snow so far and I have had absolutely no issues with control, lack of stopping, or skidding. I'm about to make an appointment to have a set of these tires installed on my 76 year old mom's Honda Accord. Buy with confidence! (On the aside, the guys at Mavis in Islandia - Mickey in particular - were wonderful and so helpful. Thanks guys!)

6/17/2013
Excellent
Probably
225/50R18
2008 Chevrolet Malibu
Combined Highway/City
Average
Gansevoort, NY
8.6 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
1,500
These tires were the only ones available for my car at the time. I got a fairly good deal on them and it's the 1st time I brought General Altimax. So far, the tires are great. We'll see how they handle during the winter months.

5/10/2013
Excellent
Definitely
195/65R15
2008 Toyota Corolla
Combined Highway/City
Average
Oswego, NY
9.0 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
9.0
800
very good service and excellent tires

5/8/2013
Excellent
Probably
195/60R15
2011 Ford Focus
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Cassville, NY
8.6 9.0
75% 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
1,000
I've only got about 1,000 miles on these tires but right from the beginning I was hooked. These tires are super quiet. They have stylish looks. And with a 70,000 mile warranty who could ask for more? These tires haven't seen snow so I can't comment on that. They have how ever seen the common CNY down pours that we get in the spring. Let me just say you wouldn't even know it's raining if it weren't for the rain on the windshield. No slipping, no floating, no hydropaning, no nothing...all at speed while on the highway. The dry traction is excellent as well. Braking is much improved over the stock tires. Cornering is fun. No roll or slipping. Overall so far a great tire.

5/5/2013
Excellent
Definitely
205/65R15
2003 Toyota Camry
Mostly Highway
Average
New Windsor, NY
9.2 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 125
these tires bar none are the best tires I've ever purchased.The main thing that blew me away was the fact that these tires were very inexpensive compared to others in this size.It crushed all competitors!!!!!! The best quality is the smooth quiet ride --it's as if you are driving on a carpet.Highly recommended.When the time come to purchase new tires I will definitely buy these again!!!!

1/13/2013
Good
Probably
215/65R16
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan
Combined Highway/City
Average
Kings Park, NY
7.7
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0
700
Very early in ownership, but they seem pretty good.

1/9/2013
Good
Definitely
215/55R18
2009 Dodge Caliber
Combined Highway/City
Average
Poughkeepsie, NY
7.8 6.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 500
Very happy with purchase. I feel safe and that is most important for me and my family. We will buy again.

9/16/2012
Excellent
Definitely
215/65R16
2007 Toyota Sienna
Mostly Highway
Average
Williamson, NY
8.7 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 10.0
10.0
8.0
10,000
We haven't driven with these tire in the snow. We will certainly give them a good test with upstate NY snow.

6/11/2012
Excellent
Definitely
195/60R15
2008 Ford Focus
All Highway
Average
Medford, NY
9.3 9.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
10.0
4,000
Better then original equipment


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions