Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Cooper Discoverer H/T Plus Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 91 customer reviews
Overall8.4 Hydroplanning Resistance8.4
Buy Again89% Cornering Stability8.5
Dry Traction8.9 Steering Responsiveness8.5
Wet Traction8.6 Ride Comfort8.4
Light Snow Traction8.2 Noise Level8.2
Deep Snow Traction8.0 Treadwear8.4
Ice Traction7.3 Miles Reported640,938
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 91 tire reviews for the Cooper Discoverer H/T Plus. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 89% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Wet Traction received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 640,938.
Browse a list of all Cooper tires

Customer Reviews: Cooper Discoverer H/T Plus
9/21/2020
Good
Probably
275/60R20 XL
2016 RAM 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Livonia, NY
7.3 8.0
75% 7.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 6.0
5.0
70,000
First experience with Cooper....friends have them on their trucks and very pleased, as am I in comparison to what I've had on this as well as other RAM 1500's. Better straight-line tracking than OEM Goodyear Wranglers or the MasterCraft HGX and I am thinking the sidewalls are stiffer as the ride is a bit stiffer than with either prior. Excellent tire for wet traction and NO hydro-planing which I experienced to a great deal with the OEM and Mastercraft brands. The noise level is significantly higher....taken a bit to get used to and sounds like an AT tire in truth, but likely to the aggressive and deep tread design. Bought these because the ratings were good to great regarding snow and ice....as well as the mileage rating because the Mastercraft (which has a much better ride than these) only gave me 40,000 miles before significant wearing showed. Likely my last pair for this truck and would buy them again for another truck if they handle the snow and ice as the ratings indicate they should....soon to find out

7/10/2020
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20 XL
2019 RAM 1500
Mostly Highway
Average
Newton, NJ
10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
1,500

3/18/2020
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20 XL
2007 Chevrolet Suburban 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Baton Rouge, LA
9.2 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 8.0
9.0
9.0
3,000

2/24/2020
Good
Probably
265/60R18 XL
2015 Ford Explorer
Combined Highway/City
Average
Buffalo, NY
7.3 7.0
75% 7.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 6.0
8.0 6.0
9.0 5.0
8.0 5,000

11/27/2019
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20 XL
2015 Chevrolet Suburban
Combined Highway/City
Average
Saint Simons Island, GA
8.3
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
200

11/22/2019
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20 XL
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
Mostly City
Average
Fayetteville, GA
8.7 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 400
So far the performance has been above average, and the tires have reliable.

1/2/2019
Good
Probably
255/55R18 XL
2009 Subaru Tribeca
Combined Highway/City
Average
West Harrison, NY
7.4 8.0
75% 7.0
7.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 5.0
8.0 8.0
6.0 53,000
The manager, I don't recall his name but I know he was of Greek descent oh, was a very helpful individual. He made the experience Pleasant.

11/1/2018
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20 XL
2008 GMC Yukon
Mostly City
Average
Trussville, AL
8.9 9.0
100% 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 1,000
Second set of these on this vehicle. These are great tires for the money. Got around 40k miles out of last set.

7/25/2018
Excellent
Probably
275/55TR20 XL
2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Hamilton, OH
8.8 10.0
75%
9.0
9.0
500
Great Tire they look excellent and ride like a dream don't spend more on other brands when Cooper's have deals like this

5/8/2018
Good
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2003 Dodge Ram 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Poughkeepsie, NY
7.8 7.0
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 9.0
6.0 200
Went from an All Terrain back to these tires. Love them

2/27/2018
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2008 Chevrolet Suburban 1500
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Mount Sinai, NY
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
6.0 10.0
6.0 20,000
Third set I have had on the truck. Highly recommend these tires.

1/16/2018
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2012 Ford Expedition
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Geneseo, NY
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 7.0
7.0 1,500
We have had a few snow storms and the tires performed very well driving in deep snow. With rapid snow and the water running across the roads were it was not an issue. So far, I am pleased with the tires.

12/20/2017
Good
Probably
285/50TR20
1999 Chevrolet Tahoe
Combined Highway/City
Average
Conshohocken, PA
7.5 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
5.0 5,000
Surprisingly, for the cost of the tire it is truly a great value. Only regret, did not upsize the tires.

12/15/2017
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18 XL
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Average
Wanaque, NJ
9.4 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 2,500
Great tire a little more noise than OEM tire , but the pro's in a big way out way the only con.

12/14/2017
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2012 RAM 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hopewell, NJ
9.0 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 1,500
Second set of Cooper Discoverer H/T Plus, 52,000 miles on my first set. Very happy with these tires, the wear, ride, noise and handling. Great tires!

11/5/2017
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
All City
Average
Deer Park, NY
10.0
100%
10.0
10.0
200
great tires

8/5/2017
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18 XL
2011 Dodge Durango
Combined Highway/City
Average
Carmel, NY
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 10,000
this is my second set of 4 and if I still have same vehicle when these ware out I'll replace with same

4/9/2017
Good
Definitely
ATD 10/11 DS
2006 Ford Explorer
Mostly City
Average
Rosedale, NY
7.3 7.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7,000
Good tires! I'm pleased.

3/23/2017
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2010 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hyde Park, NY
9.2 9.0
100% 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 2,500
having been a die hard goodyear tire man I was very resistant to switch to the cooper ht, man am I glad I did, with out a doubt better than the goodyears I had on the vehicle before, sorry goodyear but Im now swithing to cooper

8/4/2016
Excellent
Definitely
255/55R18
2005 Lexus RX330
Mostly Highway
Average
Lyndhurst, NJ
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 2,000
Awesome very happy thus far !

5/15/2016
Good
Definitely
265/60R18 XL
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Kew Gardens, NY
7.8 7.0
100% 8.0
7.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 200
I will purchase again

3/22/2016
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2012 Chevrolet Avalanche
Mostly Highway
Easy Going
Penfield, NY
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
9.0 3,000
Great Tires will definitely buy them again in 60K miles

2/19/2016
Excellent
Definitely
255/55R18
2005 Volkswagen Touareg
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Bayside, NY
9.3 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 500
great Tires

1/24/2016
Excellent
Probably
275/60TR20 XL
2014 RAM 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Syracuse, NY
8.3 9.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
8.0 2,000
Great tires. Awesome in the snow and on ice as well. Highly recommended. Also has an awesome aggressive tread pattern.

1/5/2016
Excellent
Probably
255/55R18
2010 Acura MDX
Combined Highway/City
Average
Mineola, NY
8.1 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
8.0
1,000
I have only had the tires a short time so far but they have been great, no complaints the truck runs good with these tires

11/28/2015
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18 XL
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Mostly Highway
Average
Holtsville, NY
8.9 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 2,000
Very happy with these tires so far. I travel from Long Island to Vermont every weekend with my Jeep. So I was looking for a tire that works well both in all conditions (highway and on dirt roads and snow). The tires are performing very well so far.

11/25/2015
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2007 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Pawling, NY
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
10
Very good tires, haven't had them long enough to drive them on ice or snow. Looking forward to it as they hold the road nicely.

10/17/2015
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18 XL
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hilton, NY
8.7 8.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
9.0
1,200
Can't wait to try them in the snow. I Had Coopers on my old Jeep (2000) and they lasted very well and rode good. I liked them so much that I bought them for my new Jeep. Got to stick with what works. Good tires at a great price.

3/29/2015
Excellent
Definitely
285/60R18
2012 Toyota Tacoma
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Montgomery, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10,000
Tire is great in all regards! Had an issue with alignment machine at mavis middletown, ny. After I had it done elsewhere, truck rode excellent!

3/28/2015
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2013 Ford F-150 Lariat
Combined Highway/City
Average
Mohegan Lake, NY
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 500
Excellent so far. Still early but I'm very happy with the performance so far.

2/15/2015
Excellent
Definitely
285/60R18
2013 Toyota Land Cruiser
Combined Highway/City
Average
Freehold, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 15
still look new Best set yet

2/11/2015
Good
Probably
275/55TR20 XL
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Wappingers Falls, NY
7.5 7.0
75% 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
9.0
7.0 3,000
Very surprised on how well these tires were in the snow.

2/10/2015
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2009 Chevrolet Tahoe
Mostly City
Energetic
Blue Point, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 5,000
Tires and staff were excellent. Definitely recommend both

8/25/2014
Excellent
Probably
275/45R20
2005 Chevrolet Colorado
Mostly Highway
Average
Owego, NY
9.3 10.0
75% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
8.0
10.0
4,000
Good tires in the rain for sure. Holds the wet roads really well at high speeds. Still haven't been through snow yet, so I'm hoping they do well.

1/8/2014
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2009 Ford F-150 FX4
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Chester, NY
8.8 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 400
So far so good I only have 400 miles so far. Been through snow & ice and also out in the fields hunting. I never once felt like I was going to spin out or get stuck. Good tires...

12/29/2013
Excellent
Definitely
255/55R18
2009 BMW X5
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Watertown, NY
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 500
We were just in a three county state of emergency with 2inches of ice followed by 2 feet of snow.. these tires were awesome

12/12/2013
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2002 Dodge Ram 1500
Mostly Highway
Average
Webster, NY
9.3 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
7.0 500
Good tires. I recommend them to my friends.

11/14/2013
Excellent
Definitely
255/55R18
2008 Mercedes-Benz R350
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Huntington Station, NY
8.7
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
7.0
1,000
Great Tire overall thus far!

11/11/2013
Good
Probably
275/55TR20 XL
2009 Ford F-150 FX4
Combined Highway/City
Average
Webster, NY
7.8 8.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
2,000
I've had these tires on other 1/2 ton trucks which is why I've bought them this year as well. Excellent tires a bit noisy when first installed but that goes away after you run the first 1000 miles

11/1/2013
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2011 RAM 1500
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Manorville, NY
8.0 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
6.0 7.0
6.0
9.0
4,000
I was very sceptical buying these tires based on some reviews I read. Financially I didn't have much of a choice and I have to say so far even if I had the extra money for a "better" tire I would still buy these again. I have a dirt road at the end of my street that is filled with some pretty deep sand and these tires handle it very well. Looking forward to seeing how they handle the snow. Dodge should put these on the truck from the factory.

7/19/2013
Good
Probably
285/50TR20
2005 GMC Yukon
Combined Highway/City
Average
Bellerose, NY
7.8 8.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 5,000
very good all around tire! would definitely recommend!

5/16/2013
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2010 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Mostly Highway
Average
Glen Wild, NY
8.6 9.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 1,500
Made my truck ride better. Handles much better in conditions .

4/9/2013
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Off-Road
Energetic
Massapequa Park, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
500
I've had these tires for only a short time, so I cannot yet comment on their wear resistance or their performance in snow. I can comment that with a pick-up truck with no weight in the back, these tires grip the road in lt and heavy rain alike, and I can't really chirp the tires from stop because the tires grip the road so well. I'm very very pleased with them so far, especially because of the warrantee was greater than Goodyear and they were less expensive. Plus the guys at Mavis were great.

9/26/2012
Fair
Probably
255/55R18
2003 BMW X5
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Marlboro, NY
5.3 5.0
75% 5.0
7.0 6.0
6.0 4.0
5.0 5.0
4.0 6.0
3.0 500
It is an ok tire but you get what you pay for.

9/9/2012
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
2006 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Levittown, NY
8.6 9.0
100%
7.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
10.0
8.0
1,500
good tires low noise smooth ride

7/9/2012
Excellent
Probably
265/60R18 XL
2009 Kia Borrego
Mostly Highway
Average
Stuyvesant, NY
8.3
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0
8.0
50,000
great tires.

2/20/2012
Good
Probably
255/55R18
2007 Audi Q7
Combined Highway/City
Average
Camillus, NY
7.4 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7,000
So far these tire have been pretty good, only thing I can say because they are so heavy of a tire you lose gas mailage a bit. 2 miles to the gallon on the highway, 1 around town. Compared to other tire cost these were a good choice so far.

5/6/2009
Excellent
Definitely
275/60TR20 XL
  
Mostly City
Average
Schenectady, NY
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 600
Just got these Cooper tires and I like them better than the Goodyears

5/5/2009
Excellent
Definitely
275/55TR20 XL
2007 Chevrolet Tahoe
Mostly Highway
Average
Ellenville, NY
8.6 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8,000
I got these at the end of Winter 08-09. No chance to drive them in the deep snow.<br> Very satisfied so far.


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions