Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Cooper Discoverer A/TW 4 Season Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 42 customer reviews
Overall8.4 Hydroplanning Resistance8.4
Buy Again89% Cornering Stability8.5
Dry Traction9.2 Steering Responsiveness8.6
Wet Traction8.9 Ride Comfort8.2
Light Snow Traction8.9 Noise Level7.5
Deep Snow Traction8.2 Treadwear8.2
Ice Traction8.0 Miles Reported163,187
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 42 tire reviews for the Cooper Discoverer A/TW 4 Season. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 89% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Wet Traction received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 163,187.
Browse a list of all Cooper tires

Customer Reviews: Cooper Discoverer A/TW 4 Season
4/12/2020
Excellent
Definitely
LT275/70R18
2018 Toyota Tundra
Combined Highway/City
Average
Clay, NY
8.7 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 7.0
800

1/7/2020
Excellent
Definitely
LT245/75R17
2014 RAM 3500 Laramie Limited
Combined Highway/City
Average
Troy, NY
8.9 8.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 30,000
I'm running these on my 3500 cumins dually's , I town very heavy loads . I'm rated for over 30000 and these tires make that hauling go smoothly. The only complaint I would say I have is the mileage could be better , but you have to remember I do a lot of hauling and they are on dually's ! Besides that I use these on 3 different trucks and have never had a issue . I'll keep using the cooper star fires .

9/18/2019
Excellent
Definitely
235/70R16
2008 Ford Escape
Combined Highway/City
Average
Philadelphia, PA
8.0 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
6.0 500

3/13/2019
Excellent
Definitely
LT265/70R18
2015 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD
Combined Highway/City
Average
Danbury, CT
8.9
100% 8.0
10.0 8.0
10.0
10.0 6.0
9.0 200

2/15/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/70R16
2004 Toyota Tacoma
Combined Highway/City
Average
Sackets Harbor, NY
8.3 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
10.0 300

1/10/2019
Excellent
Probably
275/60R20
2016 RAM 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Caledonia, NY
9.2 9.0
75% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
250
so they work really well, haven't had much snow or ice.

11/9/2018
Good
Probably Not
275/60R20
2015 RAM 1500
Mostly Highway
Average
Manchester Township, NJ
7.1 8.0
25% 9.0
10.0 9.0
8.0 5.0
4.0
9.0
6
They are nice tires, they look great for snow and mud

11/4/2018
Good
Probably
245/70R16
2006 Dodge Dakota
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Washingtonville, NY
7.6 7.0
75% 8.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
400
The tires are handling very well,and are a pleasure to drive on! No problems!

4/3/2018
Excellent
Definitely
245/70R16
2002 Ford Explorer
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Hopewell Junction, NY
8.8 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 7.0
10.0 5.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 250
car went through all the snow we had... the noise level was much higher than summer tires. but car drives in snow like it was summer , it was great. ...and unlike buying soft winter tires and having to switch to summer tires.. I am very pleased with my decision to buy these tires. thank you mavis for recommending them

3/3/2018
Good
Possibly
265/70R17
2016 Chevrolet Suburban
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Moorestown, NJ
7.4 7.0
50% 7.0
9.0 7.0
7.0 6.0
9.0 7.0
10.0 7.0
8.0 2
I got them for a ski trip in Vermont and ran in to all most 10 inches of snow Felt very confident driving through the storm and getting out of deep snow in parking lots and sidestreets no problems Did not need the 4 wheel drive to get out of deap snow but did use it going up steep hills I do

4/16/2017
Excellent
Definitely
LT265/75R16
2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Bay Shore, NY
8.2
100% 7.0
9.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
9.0 6.0
9.0
5,000
tires were excellent during the one big snowfall we had this year

3/15/2017
Excellent
Definitely
LT285/70R17
2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Wading River, NY
9.4 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 2,500
I have used these tires on 2 road trips to Vermont. They have seen mud and snow use. Very good traction all around with no noise. I typically go for a more aggressive tire, but I'm glad I went with these. Excellent all-terrain tire that is also great on snow covered roads.

2/26/2017
Excellent
Definitely
265/70R17
2010 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LS
Mostly Highway
Average
Buffalo, NY
9.2 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 8.0
10.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 4,000
tires are great in rain and snow

2/26/2017
Good
Definitely
275/55R20
2009 GMC Yukon
Autocross
Average
Highmount, NY
7.7 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 6.0
9.0 5.0
8.0 6.0
6.0 200
Tires are fine.

9/25/2016
Excellent
Definitely
P285/70R17
2012 Jeep Wrangler
Mostly City
Average
Middletown, NJ
8.8 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0
6,000
So far, so good. The ride comfort is improved markedly over stock, as is hydroplane resistance and rain handling. Yet to see Snow and Ice, but the other reviews and testing indicate that I should be in solid shape. I went larger than stock, so they fit tight, but really no rubbing unless I max the wheel, and the improved profile is great. They really fill in the wheel wells.

7/5/2016
Excellent
Definitely
LT275/70R18
2005 Ford F-150
Mostly City
Average
Guilderland, NY
9.7 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 7.0
10.0
10.0 5,000
I put deep snow traction at superior as the small storm in April these things handled excellent. What I found most interesting is that at cold temps (below 30) the tires did not spin as easy on dry pavement as a regular AT does. The long and short, they feel like a set of sticky sports car tires even when its cold wet snowy or icy. Compared to Wrangler Silent Armors these are 10x the tire all around. As for tread wear, I do not feel that 5-6K miles is enough to evaluate them. I will wait to see what they look like at 20 or 30k on them. As for right now, I have seen no adverse wear that would make me question their expected 50K mile tread life.

6/14/2016
Excellent
Definitely
265/70R16
2004 Chevrolet Tahoe
Combined Highway/City
Average
Riverside, CT
9.7 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0
10.0
500
I am very happy with the overall performance of these tires, especially in wet weather. I haven't driven them in winter weather yet.

6/8/2016
Excellent
Definitely
LT235/85R16
1993 Ford F-250 XL
All Highway
Average
Geneva, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
1,000
Have not had any snow or ice yet

4/24/2016
Excellent
Definitely
235/70R16
2003 Ford F-150 XL
Combined Highway/City
Average
Castleton On Hudson, NY
8.3 10.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 8,000
I glad I bought them

4/19/2016
Excellent
Definitely
255/70R18
2009 Ford Expedition
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Baldwinsville, NY
8.5 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
10.0 7.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 200
Great tires in snow for Central NY.

12/29/2015
Excellent
Probably
245/75R16
2010 Toyota Tacoma
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
New Milford, CT
8.7 9.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
9.0
3,000
Waiting for the snow. In wet and dry these tires are so much better than the stock. After a few thousand miles I did notice a hum but only when coasting without acceleration. Engine drowns out the hum. Mainly purchased them for the winter weather driving > but it hasn't snowed yet.


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions