Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Achilles Desert Hawk UHP Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 59 customer reviews
Overall7.9 Hydroplanning Resistance8.0
Buy Again80% Cornering Stability8.3
Dry Traction8.6 Steering Responsiveness8.3
Wet Traction8.2 Ride Comfort8.1
Light Snow Traction7.3 Noise Level8.1
Deep Snow Traction7.0 Treadwear7.9
Ice Traction6.6 Miles Reported235,916
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 59 tire reviews for the Achilles Desert Hawk UHP. This tire has received a 3 out of 5 Star rating with 80% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Cornering Stability received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 235,916.
Browse a list of all Achilles tires

Customer Reviews: Achilles Desert Hawk UHP
9/11/2020
Good
Probably
315/35VR20 XL
2018 Dodge Charger
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Carlstadt, NJ
7.3 8.0
75% 8.0
9.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 9.0
6.0 8.0
6.0 1,500

9/7/2020
Good
Probably Not
245/55VR19
2013 Toyota Highlander
Combined Highway/City
Average
Syracuse, NY
7.3 9.0
25% 9.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 4.0
9.0 3.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 100

8/13/2020
Good
Definitely
275/45VR20 XL
2013 Chevrolet Camaro
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Mableton, GA
7.6 5.0
100%
8.0 6.0
7.0 8.0
9.0
8.0
1,000

7/27/2020
Excellent
Definitely
285/45VR22 XL
2012 Cadillac Escalade
All Highway
Average
Pooler, GA
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 500
Outstanding Performance Tire, I would definitely recommend this Tire to Future Buyers.

7/10/2020
Excellent
Probably
245/55VR19
2008 Toyota Highlander
All Highway
Average
Owens Cross Roads, AL
8.0
75%
9.0 8.0
9.0
9.0
6.0
2,000
Nice tread design, very quiet. Seem very good so far.

3/25/2020
Excellent
Definitely
275/45VR20 XL
2013 Ford Explorer
Combined Highway/City
Average
New Milford, CT
9.3
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0
500
Only put about 500 miles on them. So much better than old tires . Even when they were new. Nice quiet ride. Very happy.

3/4/2020
Fair
Definitely Not
285/45VR22 XL
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Mostly Highway
Average
South Chatham, MA
4.8 6.0
1% 6.0
7.0 6.0
6.0 7.0
2.0 7.0
2.0 7.0
1.0 1,500
Terrible in the snow - I got stuck twice

6/22/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/50VR20 XL
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee
All Highway
Average
Chappaqua, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 1,000
Tires are great

6/12/2019
Excellent
Definitely
245/45VR20
2018 Chrysler 300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Rochester, NY
8.7
100%
8.0
8.0
50
Good tires so far for the price

5/19/2019
Excellent
Probably
245/55VR19
2010 Toyota Highlander
Mostly Highway
Average
Highland, NY
8.7 9.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
9.0
9.0
1,500
I'm happy with the tires .

4/20/2019
Excellent
Definitely
255/50VR19 XL
2010 Mercedes-Benz ML350
Mostly Highway
Average
Birmingham, AL
8.7 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
7.0
8.0
1,000
Very satisfied

2/11/2019
Excellent
Definitely
255/50VR19 XL
2010 Mercedes-Benz ML350
Combined Highway/City
Average
Brentwood, NY
8.1 7.0
100% 8.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 5,000
The tires have held up to all terrain and with minimal slip.

2/4/2019
Good
Probably
245/45VR20
2015 Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Combined Highway/City
Average
Flanders, NJ
7.8 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
7.0 500
So far these tires are doing well. I haven't had any experience in deep snow or ice yet but I feel these tires will do well.

12/17/2018
Good
Definitely
265/50VR20 XL
2004 Infiniti FX45
Mostly City
Average
Southampton, PA
7.9 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 2,000
Love the tires so far. Good value for the cost.

9/19/2018
Good
Definitely
235/55VR19 XL
2013 Dodge Charger
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Yonkers, NY
7.9 9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 9.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 200
Just got the tires but a huge improvement over what came with my car and I got them at a great price

6/14/2018
Fair
Possibly
305/35VR24 XL
1999 GMC Yukon
Mostly Highway
Average
Mastic Beach, NY
5.2 6.0
50% 8.0
7.0 7.0
5.0 6.0
3.0 7.0
3.0 3.0
2.0 5,000
Selling a tire that you cannot install and I cannot buy a warranty for is somewhat useless when I have to go to another tire shop to have them installed and get the funny looks because I did not buy them from them

5/20/2018
Excellent
Possibly
265/50VR20 XL
2005 Toyota 4Runner
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hollis, NY
8.7 9.0
50% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 3,000
very quite when running in the highway compare to my previous goodyear tire.

4/4/2018
Excellent
Definitely
265/50VR20 XL
2014 Dodge Durango
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Chester, NJ
9.0 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
9.0 150
The tires are great slight slip in deep snow that I didn’t find with old tires ( from dealer) no problems. What really gets a 10 is the store in chester for their service!!

10/14/2017
Excellent
Probably
245/45VR20
2012 Chrysler 300
Combined Highway/City
Average
Philadelphia, PA
8.3
75% 9.0
8.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
7.0
8.0
70,200
So far so good, will see how they respond during the upcoming winter season. Great so far but have not driven many miles.

6/8/2017
Excellent
Definitely
255/50VR19 XL
2012 Mercedes-Benz ML350
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Morrisville, PA
9.0 9.0
100% 7.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 10.0
10.0
2,000
Tread wear unknown at this time but tires are exceptionally quiet and smooth riding

5/29/2017
Excellent
Definitely
255/45VR20 XL
2012 Ford Flex
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Marcus Hook, PA
8.0 9.0
100% 9.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
6.0
8.0
1
Initially, I was weary of buying tires from a manufacturer I had not heard of. However; the price could not be beaten! In the past 1,000 miles I have driven around some old broken urban streets as well as well groomed highways and have noticed: 1. Tire noise is more pronounced than I'd like. You can feel the boom of highway expansion gaps as well as pot-holes. Drone on the highway is a minimum but still higher than the set of Hankook's that came with the SUV. 2. Traction is great! Steering is snappy; however, it is duller than that of the OEM tires. 3. Ride comfort is wonderful. From an ROI standpoint, I am thrilled with these tires and will buy them in the next 50,000 miles.

2/4/2017
Good
Definitely
255/55VR18 XL
2006 Saab 9-7x
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Mount Laurel, NJ
7.6 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 6.0
8.0 6.0
6.0 5.0
5.0 1,000
I noticed an instant change in my driving. The car handled much better when I had these new tires installed. The car was very responsive and tracts true and straight


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions