Brands Powered by MavisTire.com video Purchase Gift Card
Login vline Cart
Mavis Discount Tire
Phone 717-797-0220
StoresYour Store: Hanover PA 865 Baltimore St.  All Stores
        Find a Location Go
Home vline Tires vline Tire Brands vline Auto Service vline Specials & Rebates vline Careers




 Zip Code: Go

 Front & Rear are Different Sizes
 Zip Code: Go

Achilles Desert Hawk HT2 Tire Reviews



Consumer Tire Performance Survey
based on 146 customer reviews
Overall8.3 Hydroplanning Resistance8.2
Buy Again84% Cornering Stability8.4
Dry Traction8.7 Steering Responsiveness8.4
Wet Traction8.5 Ride Comfort8.5
Light Snow Traction8.0 Noise Level8.3
Deep Snow Traction7.6 Treadwear8.4
Ice Traction7.5 Miles Reported678,644
     8-10 = excellent        6-7 = good        4-5 = fair        1-3 = poor
guide to ratings

Mavis Discount Tire has received 146 tire reviews for the Achilles Desert Hawk HT2. This tire has received a 4 out of 5 Star rating with 84% of the respondents saying they would buy again. Dry Traction and Wet Traction received the highest marks and total mileage that as been reviewed is 678,644.
Browse a list of all Achilles tires

Customer Reviews: Achilles Desert Hawk HT2
9/18/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18
2015 Dodge Durango
Mostly City
Easy Going
Neptune, NJ
9.0
100% 8.0
9.0 9.0
1,000

9/12/2020
Good
Definitely
255/70HR16
2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Combined Highway/City
Average
Winston Salem, NC
7.5 8.0
100% 6.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
5.0 800

9/12/2020
Good
Probably
265/60R18
2019 Lexus GX460
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Butler, NJ
7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0
7.0
2

9/6/2020
Excellent
Probably
265/70HR17
2002 Ford Expedition
Combined Highway/City
Average
Trenton, NJ
8.0
75%
8.0
9.0
50
Great tires

9/6/2020
Excellent
Definitely
245/70R16
2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Mostly City
Easy Going
Kannapolis, NC
9.6 10.0
100%
10.0
10.0 10.0
7.0
10.0

7/28/2020
Excellent
Definitely
275/55R20
2009 Chevrolet Tahoe
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Middletown, NY
8.8 9.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
9.0 20
Holds road very good, rides very well and you can feel the tire holding the road in every turn.

7/16/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18
2010 Ford F-150 XLT
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Locust Grove, GA
8.2 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
60,000
Good tires and excellent price

7/12/2020
Excellent
Definitely
225/60R18
2005 Chrysler 300
Mostly Highway
Average
Tuckerton, NJ
9.9 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
8,000
Perry and his knowledgeable staff at the Tuckerton Mavis Discount Tire Center offered me a cheaper alternative Tire for a great price tires replaced Goodyear product not saying Good Year a bad product but this product blows the Goodyear away very happy with my tires very satisfied customer thank you Perry and staff for getting me back on the road safely

7/7/2020
Excellent
Definitely
235/70HR16 XL
2008 Honda Pilot
Combined Highway/City
Average
Tallahassee, FL
8.6 9.0
100% 7.0
8.0 7.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
200
I just replaced two Achilles with these new Achilles, and they're just as good as the first two. Great value for an older vehicle. Mavis did a great job of putting them on right and right away.

6/28/2020
Good
Probably
225/65R17
2015 Dodge Journey
All Highway
Easy Going
Harvest, AL
7.0 7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 2,000
I like my tires. Car rides well

6/8/2020
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R17
2017 Nissan Rogue
Combined Highway/City
Average
Riverview, FL
9.3 9.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 10.0
9.0
9.0
40,000
I purchased new tires for my small SUV from Mavis Tires & Brakes. I called four other tire centers in my area and Mavis gave me the best price for four new tires. The new tires are excellent. My ride is smoother and quieter and the tires performed superbly in the heavy rain we had this past weekend. I will definitely return to Mavis when our other car needs tires. Thank you for a great experience!

6/6/2020
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R17
2014 Mazda CX-5
Combined Highway/City
Average
Birmingham, AL
9.9 9.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
100
The customer service was beyond wonderful!

5/26/2020
Good
Definitely
235/65HR17 XL
2011 Kia Sorento
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Highland, NY
7.9 7.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
9.0
7.0 30
These tires are great, and yes I would purchase them again.

4/26/2020
Good
Possibly
225/65R17
2007 Honda CR-V
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Saratoga Springs, NY
7.5 8.0
50% 8.0
10.0 9.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
7.0 1.0
7.0 50
Very good tire very good service

4/17/2020
Excellent
Definitely
235/65HR17 XL
2007 Ford Edge
Mostly City
Average
Aragon, GA
9.5 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
8.0 8,000
tires are pretty great. They even matched the price for me!

4/17/2020
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R17
2008 Honda CR-V
Mostly City
Easy Going
Little Falls, NJ
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
500
Great Service, great pricing, happy with the whole experience. Give Mavis a try. I think you will be happy.

4/9/2020
Excellent
Definitely
235/70HR16 XL
2005 Ford Escape
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Norristown, PA
8.9 8.0
100% 9.0
10.0 10.0
8.0 9.0
8.0
8.0
125
All that matters is I'd buy them again. The price range is on par with "name" brand tires, but thats all you get A NAME. These Desert Hawks are great so far

4/6/2020
Good
Probably
245/65HR17 XL
2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer
Mostly Highway
Average
Rincon, GA
7.4 8.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 7.0
7.0 200
Positive customer service would do business with them again.

3/30/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/70HR16
2001 Toyota Tacoma
Mostly Highway
Average
Ringoes, NJ
8.3 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
8.0
8.0
500
Satisfied on price and my Tacoma feels like lt is 2001 all over again !

3/23/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Average
Brodheadsville, PA
10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
150
Very happy with my tire purchase

3/14/2020
Excellent
Definitely
265/65ZR17
2010 Ford Explorer
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Philadelphia, PA
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 200
Love the tires

3/9/2020
Excellent
Probably
225/65R17
2011 Mazda CX-7
Combined Highway/City
Average
Hudson, NC
8.7 8.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
9.0
500
Tires are performing well. Haven't been driven enough yet to fully evaluate total performance.

3/4/2020
Fair
Probably Not
265/60R18
2017 Lexus GX460
Combined Highway/City
Average
Clinton, MS
4.6
25% 5.0
5.0 5.0
5.0 5.0
5.0
5.0
10
One of the tire exploded, drove for 10 miles, big lumps and bumps on tire

2/22/2020
Good
Probably
225/70HR16 XL
1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Average
Jonesboro, GA
7.7 7.0
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 9.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 75
The tires are good and smooth ride. The Vehicle drives very smooth since getting these tires. I couldn’t answer all questions because I haven’t had the tires a month yet. Service was very good

2/5/2020
Excellent
Probably
225/65R17
2013 Dodge Grand Caravan
Mostly City
Average
Philadelphia, PA
8.3
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0
8.0
500
Tires so far are good. Nice ride and good traction.

1/22/2020
Good
Probably
235/65HR17 XL
2008 Volvo XC90
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Blackwood, NJ
6.3 6.0
75% 6.0
6.0 6.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 7.0
6.0 6.0
6.0 1,000
It is early 1000 Miles - What I had on were 4 various used tires. So huge safe improvement. Got the alignment, so myself and my family safer and that to me is most important that families ensure they have good tires. Budget for good tires and not ride around on worn badly worn tires like I was. Local garage here was good. Expecting I am going to be happy with the tire.

12/28/2019
Good
Definitely
265/70HR17
2003 Ford Expedition
Combined Highway/City
Average
Huntsville, AL
7.6 7.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
8.0
7.0
2,000
Great value for an old truck!

11/9/2019
Excellent
Probably
275/55R20
2006 GMC Yukon
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Rochester, NY
9.3
75%
10.0 10.0
8.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
500
Not bad so far keep up the good work

10/30/2019
Good
Probably
245/65HR17 XL
2005 GMC Envoy XUV
Mostly Highway
Easy Going
Conway, SC
7.5 9.0
75% 7.0
9.0 7.0
9.0 6.0
7.0 7.0
6.0 9.0
7.0 1,000
great tire for the price

10/25/2019
Excellent
Definitely
255/70HR16
2006 Mitsubishi Raider
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Summerville, SC
9.1
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
100
Staff was lovely

9/5/2019
Good
Possibly
235/65HR17 XL
2006 Acura MDX
Mostly City
Average
Catasauqua, PA
6.9 7.0
50% 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0
400
So far these tires seem to be a good buy,they performed well on our vacation trip and we have no complaints as of now.

8/31/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/65ZR17
2013 Toyota Tacoma
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Levittown, PA
9.2 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
10.0
9.0
500
Very happy with the price and quality of these tires

7/22/2019
Excellent
Probably
235/65HR17 XL
2006 Nissan Murano
Mostly City
Average
Birmingham, AL
9.5
75% 9.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
328
Tires are wonderful. Since getting them out on my car drives as if it were brand new! Would definitely recommend these tires for someone who doesn't travel highway a bunch. I am mainly in a 100 mile radius of my home few highway driving miles.

7/13/2019
Good
Definitely
265/70HR17
2005 Dodge Ram 1500 ST
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Jacksonville, FL
7.6 7.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 10.0
7.0 100
Mavis discount tires are exceptional in price and performance. Where else can you purchase four set of tires in this class for a price under $400 mounted and alignment included. Good warranty, apply too! I'll do business here again, if necessary. Thanks Mavis!

6/22/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Woodstock, GA
9.7 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
7.0 5,000
Really good tires I love it, thank you guys...

6/8/2019
Excellent
Definitely
225/65R17
2011 Toyota RAV4
Mostly City
Average
Southampton, PA
8.6 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0
300
would buy again!

6/7/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/70HR16
2015 Nissan Frontier
Mostly City
Average
Jacksonville, FL
9.3
100% 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 10.0
10.0
10.0
1,000
I replaced the rear tires on my pick up and immediately found greater stability and response

5/23/2019
Excellent
Definitely
235/65HR17 XL
2012 Kia Sorento
Mostly Highway
Energetic
Hyde Park, NY
9.1 9.0
100% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 10,000
So far I'm happy with my tires

4/28/2019
Excellent
Probably
265/70HR17
2002 Chevrolet Avalanche 1500
All Highway
Easy Going
West Columbia, SC
8.8 9.0
75% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
Tires are good

4/16/2019
Excellent
Probably
245/65HR17 XL
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Vestal, NY
8.3 10.0
75% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
9.0 5,000
Good price, great for wet highway conditions

4/16/2019
Excellent
Definitely
245/65HR17 XL
2009 Honda Pilot
Mostly City
Average
Jonesboro, GA
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 200
So far Tire’s have been great!

4/15/2019
Good
Probably
235/65HR17 XL
2016 Kia Sorento
Combined Highway/City
Average
Atlanta, GA
7.9
75% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
8.0
6,000
Smooth riding tires, reasonably priced.

4/15/2019
Excellent
Definitely
245/65HR17 XL
2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT
Combined Highway/City
Energetic
Canandaigua, NY
9.7 10.0
100% 9.0
10.0 9.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
9.0 575
Great price great service

3/25/2019
Excellent
Definitely
265/60R18
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Combined Highway/City
Average
Irvington, NJ
9.9 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
9.0 10.0
10.0 500
I was originally skeptical about buying these tires because I’ve never heard of them. However, your sales person promised me that I would be satisfied. And I am!!

2/11/2019
Good
Probably
225/65R17
2015 Nissan Rogue
Combined Highway/City
Easy Going
Rochester, NY
7.0 7.0
75% 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 61,000
I feel safe

2/10/2019
Excellent
Definitely
245/65HR17 XL
2009 Honda Pilot
Mostly Highway
Average
Peekskill, NY
10.0 10.0
100% 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 10.0
10.0 6,000
Excellent tires

1/11/2019
Excellent
Definitely
245/65HR17 XL
2003 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT
Combined Highway/City
Average
Merrick, NY
8.4 8.0
100% 8.0
9.0 8.0
9.0 9.0
8.0 9.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 2,400
Great tire for the money had them 6 weeks and put 2400 miles on them . Very quiet smooth ride .so much better than the Goodyear’s that I had before that cost a lot more. I would definitely purchase these again..

12/17/2018
Excellent
Definitely
265/65ZR17
2007 Nissan Pathfinder
Mostly Highway
Average
Staten Island, NY
8.3 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0
100
Tire price and performance was excellent

12/16/2018
Excellent
Possibly
265/65ZR17
2010 Dodge Dakota
All Highway
Average
Phillipsburg, NJ
8.5 9.0
50% 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0 9.0
9.0
200
Areas not filled in are due to not having used vehicle in those conditions yet.

12/15/2018
Good
Definitely
235/65HR17 XL
2004 Acura MDX
Mostly Highway
Average
Scotch Plains, NJ
7.9 8.0
100% 8.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7.0
8.0 6.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 7,000
Solid tire.

11/28/2018
Good
Probably
245/65HR17 XL
2005 Ford Focus
Combined Highway/City
Average
Lancaster, NY
7.3 6.0
75% 6.0
9.0 6.0
8.0 8.0
8.0 8.0
7.0 8.0
6.0 500
Have only had a couple snow storms with them so far, but these are better than other snow tires I've gotten before.

7/29/2018
Good
Definitely
245/65HR17 XL
2004 Ford Explorer
Combined Highway/City
Average
Scotch Plains, NJ
7.5 8.0
100% 7.0
7.0 7.0
8.0 7.0
7.0 8.0
7.0 7.0
7.0 100
good tires good service


Mavis Credit Card

Tire Promotions